Southern Downs Regional Council

Southern Downs Regional Council was formed in 2008 by the amalgamation of Stanthorpe and Warwick Shires. The new council extends along the New South Wales border from the Main Range National Park, east of Killarney, to beyond the Girraween National Park. In fact, well over half of the Southern Downs Regional Council is border ranges and foothills, and the remainder in the north is the true Southern Downs. The ranges enclose the headwaters of the Condamine River (the most northerly part of the Murray Darling system), and can claim to have four seasons.

Further Reading: 

Stanthorpe and Warwick Shires entries

Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo